Yum Yum!: Orange Chicken

One of the things I’ve had to figure out as a busy working mom is how to prepare healthy and yummy meals quickly!  When I was single I spent 4 years in Europe and my taste buds got accustomed to gourmet meals.  I loved to spend hours in the kitchen cooking all kinds of delicious dishes from scratch! Well, times have changed…

I’ve now been on a mission to find meals that taste gourmet but don’t take longer than 30 minutes to prepare.  I’ve also had to be creative with the types of meals we eat because my husband has dietary restrictions and we have a toddler in the house.  Most of the recipes I prepare now are GERD and toddler friendly.  I’m also trying to lose some weight, so I’ve added the Weight Watchers Points Plus value to my meals to keep track of what I’m eating.

I have a list of meals that we rotate through which also helps us save a lot of money (more on that later…).  I hope you’ll enjoy my take on this Chicken a l’Orange Recipe.

Orange Chicken

Ingredients:

1 cup jasmine or basmati rice (believe me… it’s worth it to buy the better quality rice… I’ll never go back to Minute Rice again!)
1 1/4 cup water
1 tsp salt
3 Tbsp unsalted butter, divided (this is one thing I learned in Europe… butter gives a much richer flavor to foods than margarine)
1/4 cup sliced almonds (optional)
2 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, butterflied (click here to watch a short how-to video), and cut into serving size cutlets
1/2 cup orange marmalade
1 orange, sliced and cut into half-moons
1 package frozen petite green beans, steam-in-the-bag variety 

Directions:

  1. Boil water with salt and 1 Tbsp butter.  When water begins to boil, add rice, cover, and reduce the heat to simmer.  Simmer for 15 minutes or until water is absorbed.
  2. Melt remaining 2 Tbsp butter in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add the chicken breasts, cooking until browned on both sides and cooked throughout.  Add orange marmalade to the skillet and turn the chicken to coat.
  3. Microwave the frozen green beans according to package directions.
  4. To serve, spoon rice onto the plate and top with chicken breast and drizzle with a little marmalade sauce.  Sprinkle with almonds (if desired).  Add green beans to the side and garnish with sliced oranges.

Makes 6 servings.  Points Plus per serving = 11

Are you going to try it?  If you do, let me know what you think!

4 thoughts on “Yum Yum!: Orange Chicken

  1. Pingback: Menu for a Month of Meals « StayAtHomeWork

  2. So excited to find your site. Do you think the orange in this recipe would still be acidic enough to bother my daughter who has acid reflux? Also saw vinegar in your mushroom recipe…I try to avoid that for her as well. Just in your experience, do think these would be a problem after they are cooked?

    • The orange marmalade isn’t as acidic as orange juice. My husband does fine with it as well as the vinegar, but everyone is different so you may have to do a little trial and error to see what works for your daughter. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

