Super Bowl Party Ideas

I love planning parties!  Practically everything I learned about being a good host I learned from all the wonderfully hospitable Bosnians who welcomed me into their homes over the years I lived there.  They really know how to throw a party! :)

The coworkers in my department dubbed me the party planner and would look to me to come up with ideas for a casual get-together or celebration.  Most recently I helped plan a going away party for a colleague.  She is a college football fan, so we called the event “Kelly’s Kick-off” and had a football theme.

I thought I’d share some of the things we did at that party as many of them would work really well for the upcoming Super Bowl.  I also think it would be a super cute little boy birthday party theme… and I hope to use that for our little guy one of these days!

First, the invitation.  Being the frugal person that I am, I usually opted for sending an invitation via email.  My favorite website for this is Evite.  It is super easy to use and the invites look really nice.  They have several fun football themed invitations like this one:

If you are planning a more formal party, or for a birthday party, you would probably rather do printed invitations.  My sister-in-law does really unique and custom invitations.  We have had her design our wedding invitations, birth announcement, Christmas cards, and birthday invitations!  Visit her Facebook page to see some samples of her work.

Next, you have to think about decorations.  I don’t like to go too overboard with this kind of thing, but I do like to add a little of the theme in the decor to make things festive.  I admit that I’m a Martha Stewart admirer (not necessarily her character, but I love how she organizes and makes things look fresh and clean!) and so I went to her website for some ideas on party decor.  I found this simple table runner and coaster design and loved it!

I didn’t follow her instructions exactly, though, as I couldn’t find everything she suggested and some of it was expensive!  I used green wrapping paper for the table runner and just drew the lines and numbers using a ruler and a white paint pen. I used simple brown felt for the coasters.  They turned out really cute!

Next, of course, is the food!  What is a party without food?!?  Here are some Weight Watchers-friendly and GERD-friendly recipes I found online:

Homemade Salsa & Chips – 2 Points+ for 12 chips!

I haven’t tried this recipe yet and I don’t know that I would go to the trouble of making my own salsa, but I’m seriously considering making my own chips and see how they turn out…

Football Brownies (to make this WW-friendly you could making them using this Hungry Girl recipe) – 5 Points+

I’ve made the Hungry Girl brownies before and they are really pretty good, though I made them in muffin cups, not in a brownie pan, so I don’t know if they would hold the football shape very well.

Buffalo Wings with Blue Cheese Dip – 1 Points+ per wing!

This recipe sounds so simple… just shake and bake!

White Chicken Chili – 8 Points+ (using 1 Tbsp per serving of reduced-fat cheese and fat free sour cream)

This is one of my favorite recipes, but I usually substitute chili powder for the pablanos to save time.  I also remove the onion to make it more GERD-friendly.

Turkey Meatballs – 2 Points+ per meatball

This one I blogged about before!

Tomato & Mozzarella Bites – if you use mozzarella string cheese it would only be 1 Points+ per serving

I absolutely LOVE Caprese salad so I know that I would love these, too!

Hummus & Carrots – 4 Points+

This is the best hummus recipe I’ve found.  If you warm up the chickpeas in the microwave a little before blending, it makes the hummus even creamier!

Finally, you have to have some games to keep people entertained… especially for those of us who aren’t into watching the actual football game!  :)  Here are a few ideas:

  • Have guests wear their favorite team’s jersey or colors
  • Plan a trivia game based on the players, team records, or football in general
  • Create a collage of team logos and have them match the mascot with the corresponding team
  • Create Bingo cards with various penalties that they keep track of during the game
  • Create score cards where everyone rates the commercials
  • Have a plush football or make a paper football for kids to play with indoors

Now we’re ready to party! :)

One thought on “Super Bowl Party Ideas

Leave a Reply

