To exercise or not to exercise…

That is the question that goes through my mind most every morning.  And I admit that my answer to that question is usually NOT!

I’ve never been a fan of exercise really.  There were the days of playing high school basketball and softball which forced me to exercise, but I was mainly motivated by being part of a team and going through the suffering together.  :)

Then there were the years I lived in Bosnia and walked everywhere.  I didn’t really label that exercise, but rather transportation!  It was so good for me to have exercise built into my everyday life with no way of getting around it!

Since I’ve been back in the States exercise has become a more difficult choice for me to make.  When I was single and had the time and money, I really enjoyed joining a gym and would stop in for a quick work-out on my way home from work.  I also loved the group classes… especially Pilates!

Curso de Instructor de Pilates

Image via Wikipedia

Now that I’ve become a mom, am working from home, and living on a tight budget the options for exercise seem to be more limited.

We’ve been attending a new church since we just moved to a new location a couple of months ago.  It seems like each week the sermon is spoken directly to me!  Well this week it was all about how our body is a temple of the Holy Spirit and how God cares about how well we take care of our body.  Um, conviction!  Ok, so I’d already been convicted of my eating habits a few weeks ago and started up with Weight Watchers again.  But I hadn’t yet gotten motivated to incorporate a regular routine of exercise.

In the message, the pastor also talked about how exercise causes all of these happy hormones to be released in your body and how it can give you a greater capacity to handle stress and emotions.  I don’t know if that was really new information for me or not, but it certainly caused a light bulb to go off and I realized that I HAVE TO exercise.  Not just for my sake, but for the sake of my husband, my son, my coworkers, and friends!  How I treat my body will also impact how I treat others!  Yikes!

So I’ve now got the motivation, but I need ideas!  Here are a few I’m tossing around:

Exercise DVDs – I have a few aerobic and Pilates DVDs – they are easy to pop in and exercise to but my son usually gets jealous and wants to watch Sesame Street instead!  :)

Running – I really hate to run.  But I realize that it is a very cheap way to exercise and you can do it pretty much anywhere.  I’ve heard of some Couch to 5K programs that help even a beginner runner like me learn how to run and get into shape.

Cycling – I don’t have a bicycle so that kind of crosses this one off the list for the immediate future, however I think this could be a good family exercise option once our son is old enough to ride a bike himself.

Group classes – These are probably my favorite!  I’ve looked into a few, but it seems like there is always a conflict either with scheduling or with cost!  I will keep searching, though, because exercising in a group is really what motivates me most.

What about you?  What are your favorite ways to exercise?  How do you include your kids?

17 thoughts on “To exercise or not to exercise…

  1. I have the same feelings as you — a couple of ways that I have tried to incorporate it —
    After A, I did Pilates for Dummies almost every day. It worked well, was quick, and honestly, I didn’t feel like I needed a shower right after. We used to walk a lot at our old house, but not as easy to do here.

    Some ways I do it —
    1. Dance party during dinner. I turn on music that you HAVE to dance to while I make dinner and dance the whole time. It gets in 30 minutes a lot of nights.

    2. Just Dance 3 — not only is there a sweat version, but even just doing the dances work. The kids love to do it too — so I can fit it in, while playing with them as well.

    3. Nike Fitness App — this is great because there are different levels and variations and you can set your own music to it. I was really steady about doing this for a while, and then had to stop until I had some tests run. Haven’t gotten back into it.

  2. I think we may have more in common than just working from home! Like those sermons spoke to you, this blog spoke to me. I struggle with the question every day – to exercise or not. But I can always come up with excuses to not have time……which are usually pretty legit since between working from home, taking care of the kids, caring for the house, etc….I barely have time to shower, much less exercise. But I also agree that it is important to keep our bodies healthy and that the benefits reach far beyond just that – that it can impact all aspects of our lives. Maybe we can do it together……You start, I’ll start. I would probably go with the Wii fit exercises or a DVD….I also hate to run (unless being chased!).

  3. I am trying cycling for 20 minutes a day. I have done it now two days in a row. Going up hill reminds me how much I am out of shape. But hoping to see results in a few weeks, provided the weather does not get too bad.

    Including Jadon? Chasing him around is about the extent of the exercise for this stage in life.

  4. I totally understand the lack of desire as well as the lack of time. Although I usually only get 20 minutes a day on the treadmill, it is still something. The only way I accomplish this is getting up at 5a.m. every morning. In that time I usually start laundry, organize our school day, have my quiet time, anne exercise. By 7a.m., the rest of the family is up and my day is in full swing with no “me” time. If the weather is nice and we are able to get outside, we all walk or kick the soccer ball around. Remember, something is better than nothing.:) Praying for
    you, friend!

  5. There is a workout called Yummy Mummy that only takes 15 minutes. I watched it on U tube but haven’t had time to incorporate it into my life.lol. But walking is one of the best forms of exercise and you could put Jadon in a stroller and go to the mall on bad weather days.

    • I’ll check out the Yummy Mummy! Sounds fun. Walking is great, but Jadon doesn’t like to sit in the stroller much anymore… he wants to walk like a big boy, though that means lots of stopping and looking at insects, leaves, trees, etc… :)

  6. I’ve been thinking about exercise (or the lack thereof) a lot lately too. I have fibromyalgia and haven’t exercised for years because it makes me so tired. I know I can do it if I start super small. I just want to go gangbusters like I used to. It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who struggles to take care of self.

  7. Pingback: Hobbies… « StayAtHomeWork

  8. Pingback: My First Ever 5K « StayAtHomeWork

Leave a Reply

