Dating my mate…

Image: kongsky / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

This Valentine’s Day I’ve been inspired to prioritize my marriage more in the coming year.  It seems like the past year and a half  has been absorbed in figuring out this parenting thing and basically just surviving!  But we’ve now found ourselves in a place where we’re getting more short with each other and more critical (I’m mainly the guilty party).

Yes, we are under some other stresses (unemployment being the big one) which also plays a role in things, but I think it mostly comes down to the fact that we haven’t always put our marriage first.

A friend of mine once told me that she and her husband would often remind their son: “Before there was you, there was us.”  Meaning that they wanted their son to know that their marriage was a priority and was the foundation of their family.  That will always stay with me and I want to communicate that to our child(ren) in the future.  If our marriage isn’t strong, then our family will suffer.

So I’m going to make a goal for the rest of 2012 to plan at least one creative date per month with my husband.  Our default dates usually involve going out for sushi or watching a movie on DVD after our son is in bed.  Boring!!!  I’d love for us to break out of that rut and have some fun!

I found this list online that has inspired me to start brainstorming new things for us to do together!

101 ideas for a fun date – The best list of creative date ideas!

Here are my top 10 (not in any particular order):

  1. Go to a concert
  2. Fly a kite
  3. Go for a bike ride
  4. Rent a paddle boat on a nearby lake/pond
  5. Do a service project together
  6. Visit a nearby landmark/historical site
  7. Go to a local sporting event (I had to put one in there that my husband will like!)
  8. Go to a comedy club
  9. Borrow someone’s Wii and play video games together
  10. Go on a picnic at a nearby park

What are some of the most creative dates you have been on with your spouse?

2 thoughts on “Dating my mate…

Leave a Reply

