Laughter is the Best Medicine

In my last post I talked about how my husband and I have been more critical of one another lately and are committed to prioritizing our marriage more in the coming year.  So last weekend our church offered a marriage seminar and we decided to go and see what we could learn.  We didn’t really know what to expect and weren’t sure if it would help any but we wanted to take advantage of the opportunity.

It turned out to be a really fun and healing experience for us!  They showed marriage expert Mark Gungor’s Laugh Your Way to a Better Marriage DVDs.  I had never even heard of the guy before and wasn’t sure if he would make me laugh, but it was hilarious!  He shared a lot of great truths about the differences between men and women, but in a non-threatening way.  I was able to laugh at myself and that helped me be more open to learning that I’ve had some unrealistic expectations of our relationship and that I need to change my approach and communication with my husband.

Here’s a short teaser clip to give you an idea:

I admit that I’ve been living in that fantasy world and have accused my husband of character issues like laziness or selfishness at times when in fact he was just BEING A GUY!  One of the lines from the DVDs that stuck with me was when he said that when he’s asked women to describe their dream guy… they describe another woman!  I guess I have to face the fact that I married a MAN (on purpose!) and that means he is wired very differently from me.

If you are like me and still struggle with the fact that your husband doesn’t do what you want him to do, then I’d recommend Mark Gungor’s marriage resources at:  www.laughyourway.com.

Here are some other good books I’ve read on marriage and address the differences between men and women:

Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus

Love & Respect

The 5 Love Languages

Have a New Husband by Friday

Men Are Like Waffles–Women Are Like Spaghetti (actually I haven’t read this one, but want to!)

One thought on “Laughter is the Best Medicine

  1. Pingback: Hobbies… « StayAtHomeWork

Leave a Reply

