Marsala Chicken and Mushrooms

Have I ever mentioned how much I love mushrooms?  I’ll never forget the first time I tasted a grilled portabella mushroom.  I spent the summer volunteering at a retreat center on the coast of Croatia.  My Croatian friends decided to have a barbecue on the rooftop one night.  Of course they grilled the traditional “cevapi” sausages which I love, but they also threw on some baby bella mushrooms.  Wow!  My taste buds didn’t know what hit them… it was like an explosion of flavor and softness and juiciness all in one bite!  I think I ate an entire plateful of them that night and could have eaten more!

Anyway, all of that to say that any recipe that calls for mushrooms immediately draws my attention!  One day I was surfing the net looking for more GERD-friendly recipes and happened upon the Dr. Gourmet website which has recipes for various diets including GERD/Acid Reflux, Gluten Free, Diabetic, Low Cholesterol, and more.  That’s when I stumbled upon his recipe for Chicken Marsala. Though his recipe didn’t include mushrooms, I know that most do, so I sort of modified it to suit myself:

Marsala Chicken and Mushrooms

Serves 4; Points+ = 9

Ingredients:

2 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts, butterflied or tenderized, and cut into serving size pieces

1/2 cup flour

2 tsp dried oregano

2 tsp dried basil

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 cup Marsala wine

1 tsp white wine vinegar

1/2 tsp coarse salt

1 cup chicken broth

2 Tbsp unsalted butter

16 oz sliced fresh mushrooms (crimini or baby bella taste the best, but are sometimes more expensive), washed

Directions:

  1. Melt 2 Tbsp butter in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add the mushrooms and saute until they release their juices and get soft.  Remove to a bowl and set aside.
  2. Add the olive oil to the skillet and turn up to medium-high heat.
  3. Mix the flour, basil, oregano, and pepper in a shallow bowl.  Dredge the chicken cutlets in the flour mixture, patting it to coat well.  Place the chicken in the skillet and cook both sides until lightly browned and cooked through.
  4. Add the Marsala wine, vinegar and salt to the skillet with the chicken.  Let it bubble for a few minutes until the liquid is reduced a bit.  Add the chicken stock and swirl the sauce to combine, turning the chicken to coat on both sides.
  5. Remove the chicken to a plate.  Add the cooked mushrooms to the sauce and let it bubble a little more to thicken slightly.

I usually serve this with angel hair or some other type of pasta and salad.  I spoon the mushroom sauce over both the chicken and pasta (though I forgot to for the picture!).

Here’s how it turned out tonight:

3 thoughts on “Marsala Chicken and Mushrooms

  1. This looks lovely. I can’t help but notice you have some star vinegar in the background. How did I notice? I bought star vinegar just tonight because I liked the bottle shape. Recipe looks great, I’ll have to try it out sometime!

  2. Pingback: Menu for a Month of Meals « StayAtHomeWork

Leave a Reply

