Noodles with Chicken and Broccoli

One of the benefits of having moved twice within 4 months is that a lot of our stuff was kept boxed up for that whole time, which means that unpacking it now makes it feel “new” again!  That is how I’ve felt about my cookbooks lately… it’s like a whole treasury of recipes that I haven’t thought about in months!  I’ve also found a more convenient place to store them in our new place which makes them more accessible and fun to pick up and flip through when I have a minute or two.


This week I picked up my Extending the Table cookbook because I was looking for a way to use some broccoli I had in the freezer and knew that this cookbook was great for finding unique international recipes from simple ingredients that I often have on hand. The Recipe Index led me to a Cambodian recipe titled “Noodles with Broccoli and Meat”.  Not the most appetizing title, but it looked like the recipe itself would be yummy and easy to modify.  The “meat” in the recipe was pork and shrimp, but I decided to substitute chicken since I had that already and would probably suit my family’s taste buds more.  It turned out to be a very GERD and toddler-friendly meal!  :)

Noodles with Chicken and Broccoli

Ingredients:

1 13.5-oz package thin spaghetti noodles (I used whole wheat)
1 12-oz package steam-in-the-bag frozen broccoli florets
2 large cloves of garlic, minced
1 – 1 1/2 lb. boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into small pieces
4 Tbsp cooking oil
(I used vegetable oil)
4 Tbsp low sodium soy sauce (plus more for the table)
2 tsp sugar
1 tsp salt
(optional)

Directions:

  1. Cook spaghetti noodles according to package directions.  Drain.  Add 1 Tbsp oil to keep noodles from sticking together, cover, and set aside.
  2. Steam broccoli according to package directions.  Set aside.
  3. In a large frying pan, heat 2 Tbsp oil over medium-high heat.  Add garlic and chicken and saute until chicken is cooked through.
  4. Add broccoli to the pan with the chicken along with the soy sauce, sugar and salt.
  5. Toss with noodles and serve with additional soy sauce as desired.

Makes 8 servings.  WW Points Plus per serving = 8.

One thought on “Noodles with Chicken and Broccoli

Leave a Reply

