Kitchen: Before and After

My husband would say “if I had know how much work this was going to be, I wouldn’t have started it!”  We are both very much novices at DIY home projects and had no idea that painting kitchen cabinets would take 40+ hours of work!  But, in my opinion it was still worth it!  What do you think?

It is amazing how much just painting the cabinets alone has brightened up the kitchen!  We also changed the wall color slightly – to a yellow-green called “Mojito”.  :)

Here are a few other before/after shots around the room:

We bought a kitchen island for more countertop/work space and storage.  I was actually inspired by this kitchen towel in choosing the wall color!  :)  I would like to do more with pears in the room somehow…

We also bought a pantry for more storage.  My husband’s coworkers bought us a new microwave as a housewarming gift!  (Thank you!)  I’m reusing this painting for now, but am not sure I want it to stay… again I’d love it if I could find a large canvas of pears or something to put here to draw out the green in the walls more.

We’d like to finish painting the trim white on the windows to match the other window above the sink.  I also want to find some curtains or a valance?  But, so far I haven’t found anything I like.  I’m also considering putting a simple corner desk here under the windows to serve as a place to organize coupons, recipes, or even as a mini breakfast nook for our son.

Hope you’ve enjoyed today’s tour!  :)

13 thoughts on “Kitchen: Before and After

  1. Pingback: Travnicke (Bosnian) Stuffed Peppers « StayAtHomeWork

Leave a Reply

