Simply Shopping

I’m discovering that being the wife of a pastor does have its ups and downs.  One of those ups or downs (I haven’t decided which) is that whatever he decides to preach about should then be a reality in our lives.  I mean, we aren’t perfect and don’t want to pretend to be, but we also don’t want to be people who say one thing and do another if we can help it.  :)

One of his recent sermons about simplifying your life was particularly convicting for me.  Ugh.  I knew that I needed to change some habits in order to prioritize things that were more important.  The first thing that came to my mind was couponing.

If you have followed my blog, then you know that when we lived in Arizona and especially when my husband was unemployed, I was coupon fanatic!  Granted, it did save us a lot of money because there was a lot of competition between grocery stores and so there were lots of good deals to be made.  Since we have moved to Ohio, however, the couponing hasn’t been as good.  The price of food here seems to be more expensive in general and the little competition between stores does not create the abundance of sales.

Aldi

Aldi (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Here in Ohio they also have ALDI stores which they did not have in Arizona.  As I began to shop there I realized that most of their food was cheaper than other store brand foods and often just as cheap as a similar name brand item on sale and with a coupon!  Then I found out that Trader Joe’s is owned by the same parent company as ALDI which made me like them even more because I love Trader Joe’s!

So one way that I have simplified my life is by cutting back on coupons.  I still get one Sunday paper so that we can get the sale ads and one set of coupons, but we just use them for the few items that they don’t sell at ALDI or for particular brands that we like.  And I have to admit that I am enjoying spending my time on other things… like sewing and jogging and hanging out with other moms and playing with our 2-year-old.

I hope to blog about some of these things soon, but blogging is another thing that has gotten moved to the bottom the list in order to simplify and prioritize….

What are some of the things you enjoy doing when you are able to simplify your life?

3 thoughts on “Simply Shopping

  1. Although I’m not dedicated to coupons I learned a lot from you. Now I’m watching to hear more about Aldi’s brands. :)

    • Ha! Ok, I’ll try to remember to post something about that. Also, today I tried ad matching at Wal-Mart for the first time and that also saved some money! I might write about that, too, of I get more experienced at it. :)

  2. Pingback: Food for a Whole Month! « StayAtHomeWork

Leave a Reply

