Fish and Birds

Well, we have made it through Week 5 of our preschool curriculum!  We’ve been learning about Creation one day each week since we started and this week we got to Day 5 (Genesis 1:20-23) when God made fish and birds!

There were some really cute crafts that went along with the theme for the week:
(I apologize for the bad photos… these were all taken with my iPod!):

Day 5 Coloring Page and Paper Plate Fish

Toilet Paper Roll Binoculars

The book of the week was Five Little Speckled Frogs which I couldn’t find at our library, but they did have a story kit (called a LEAP kit) which included fun flannel board props!

Five Green and Speckled Frogs

My son loved the Create an Animal Ocean computer game, but is still getting the hang of using a mouse, so we improvised.  I remembered that I had recently bought the Melissa & Doug Habitats Reusable Sticker Pad and when I pulled it out discovered an ocean scene!

Ocean Habitat Reusable Sticker Page

We also checked out another LEAP kit with a bird theme that included 8 books about birds and a toy stuffed bird and plastic binoculars.  One of the books talked about nests, so we made up our own nest craft with pipe cleaners and a plastic Easter egg!  :)

Birds LEAP kit

Today was kind of a long day, so we decided to do yet another craft.  I found an idea for a paper bag parrot, but modified it into a cardinal (well, a red bird anyway…).

Paper Bag Red Bird

We also made a paper plate eagle that we learned how to make at VBS this summer.  We tried to soar it around the room, but it didn’t fly very far…

Paper Plate Eagle

All in all it was a fun week and a great way to learn colors, numbers, animals, and truth from God’s word!

Are you doing the ABCJesusLovesMe.com or any other preschool curriculum?  I’d love to hear what ideas you’ve come up with too!

6 thoughts on “Fish and Birds

    • That’s why I love this curriculum… I don’t have to structure it all by myself! Also, I’m not that organized with it… I just try to mix it in to our normal days and play times. You could totally do it!

Leave a Reply

